MICHAEL A. BERGHOFER, LL.M.

ATTORNEY, COMPETITION LAW EXPERT

Contact

MICHAEL A. BERGHOFER, LL.M.

ATTORNEY, COMPETITION LAW EXPERT

Contact

My services

With more than 15 years of practical experience in all fields of competition and antitrust law, I will competently guide you through all competition-law issues. Trust my advice to avoid sanctions and to proactively use competition and antitrust laws in order to secure your position on the market without undue legal risks.

Your benefit

In close cooperation with you, I develop tailor-made solutions for you and your undertaking to support you in reaching your goals whilst minimizing antitrust and competition law risks. I always keep the big picture in mind and, together with my network of dedicated legal experts in their respective field, provide legal advice in neighbouring fields of law as well, thus being your partner in all questions relating to competition and antitrust law.

My services

With more than 15 years of practical experience in all fields of competition and antitrust law, I will competently guide you through all competition-law issues. Trust my advice to avoid sanctions and to proactively use competition and antitrust laws in order to secure your position on the market without undue legal risks.

Your benefit

In close cooperation with you, I develop tailor-made solutions for you and your undertaking to support you in reaching your goals whilst minimizing antitrust and competition law risks. I always keep the big picture in mind and, together with my network of dedicated legal experts in their respective field, provide legal advice in neighbouring fields of law as well, thus being your partner in all questions relating to competition and antitrust law.

berghofer-portrait

Attorney /competition law expert

berghofer-portrait

Attorney /competition law counsel

Antitrust and Competition Law

As can be inferred from the quotes here above, competition and antitrust laws are a special and peculiar field of law many undertakings do not know how to handle – despite the fact that competition and antitrust laws do influence nearly all aspects of any undertaking’s economic actions and competition authorities (and increasingly other market participants) pursue adherence to them ever more rigorously. The extremely wide cartel prohibitions of German (§ 1 GWB) and EU (Article 101(1) TFEU) law prohibit

all agreements between undertakings, decisions by associations of undertakings and concerted practices which have as their object or effect the prevention, restriction or distortion of competition“.

Follow me on

Follow me on

Services

+ CARTELS & CARTEL FINES

The imposition of cartel fines up to an amount of ten percent (10%) of a company’s global yearly group turnover for a single infringement is the most potent instrument German and European competition authorities dispose of, save for criminal sanctions (which are, however, more relevant abroad). With my longstanding experience as a lawyer defending undertakings and company directors alike in cartel proceedings and against cartel fines (in front of the German Bundeskartellamt, and the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Competition as well as the German and EU courts), I provide the following services:

  • scrutiny and assessment of the existence of competition law infringements and counselling on appropriate measures for redress and mitigation including leniency applications
  • preparation and advice on the correct behaviour during unannounced inspections by competition authorities (so called “dawn raids”)
  • representation in investigations by competition authorities including unannounced inspections and sector enquiries
  • elaboration of an individual defence strategy as well as conception and execution of tailor-made defence measures
  • representation in contentious court proceedings before the German and EU courts against decisions of competition authorities

+ Merger control

External growth of undertakings – in particular by acquisition of shares or assets of another undertaking, consolidation of companies, joint ventures, corporate mergers or tie-ups, but also by certain kinds of co-operation or leases – will have to be notified to and approved by competition authorities (often in various jurisdictions) prior to closing if certain turnover thresholds are exceeded. In order to avoid the severe consequences non-compliance with mandatory merger notification obligations entails (in particular fines and divestiture) and to allow a swift, legally secure and efficient closing of proposed company transactions, my services – in which I include specialised partner attorneys abroad where needed – comprise

  • analysis and advice on how to structure an envisaged transaction in order to avoid notification obligations where possible
  • analysis and advice on risks associated with a transaction from a merger control point of view
  • scrutiny of merger notification obligations in Germany, the EU and worldwide as well as coordination of all required merger control proceedings
  • analysis and advice on how to define and structure a transaction in line with existing notification requirements
  • drafting and filing merger control applications with_the Bundeskartellamt and the European Commission and presentation during said proceedings
  • representation of other undertakings as interested parties in merger proceedings
  • advice of other parties concerned by a merger regarding requests for information and the likely outcome of merger control proceedings

+ COMPETITION COMPLIANCE

Competition law compliance aims at minimising competition law infringements and at the same time safeguarding the company’s management and executives from personal liability: by appropriate rules and processes, due delegation and appropriate controls can be demonstrated should an infringement occur. Moreover, competition law compliance programs can serve to reduce the amount of competition law fines. Based on my long-standing experience in designing, amending and scrutinising competition law compliance management systems (CMS) – including certification under the IDW AsS 980 Principles for Proper Performance of Reasonable Assurance Engagements Relating to Compliance Management Systems during my tenure at a Big4 accounting firm – my services include

  • an individual analysis of all competition law related risks pertaining to the specific activity of an undertaking
  • risk based deduction and draft of appropriate processes to address the specific risks identified in the line with the requirements in IDW AsS 980
  • devising and drafting a company specific code of conduct including specialised guidelines for individual groups of employees and specific situations, e.g. during unannounced inspections by competition authorities (“dawn raids”)
  • devising and executing specific trainings of company management, compliance officer, legal department and employees pertaining to the specific competition law risks associated with their duties in the company
  • ongoing advice and support regarding all aspects of day-to-day compliance operations including identification of required amendments and clear and concise answers on specific questions surfacing
  • rendering support with a view to possible infringements of competition law detected internally / in internal audits, devising an appropriate strategy to handle these situations (including, where required, filings with competition authorities and financial regulators) and interaction with the chartered accountant

+ Co-operation

Co-operation with other undertakings, including with (potential) competitors, can lead to substantial economic benefits, e.g. economies of scale from joint purchasing, reduced cost from co-operation in the field of research and development or the use of proprietary technology by a multitude of undertakings. Often, co-operation is to the benefit of consumers and not detrimental to competition. However, in most cases co-operation does entail coordination of market behaviour by the participants, which always leads to competition law risks. When it comes to co-operation, there are plenty of legal possibilities, provided the co-operation is structured from the beginning in compliance with competition law requirements. My services comprise

  • designing and structuring co-operations for joint purchasing, research and development (R&D), technology transfer and co-operation in the field of distribution including project-related supplier consortia
  • devising, drafting and executing corresponding co-operation agreements, including contract negotiation
  • devising, assessing and amending systems for the exchange of information, e.g. via trade associations or trustees
  • comprehensive advice to all competition law aspects of contact with competitors including recommended behaviour at or in connection with trade association or industry meetings

+ Information exchange

Due to vast and far-reaching developments in jurisprudence and competition authority output, information exchange between undertakings is facing ever more rigid boundaries; lately, information exchanges have often been explicitly sanctioned with cartel fines. Like in the field of co-operations, there are still many legal possibilities to exchange information, provided the competition law restrictions are adhered to from the very beginning and changes and alterations in the competition law assessment of information exchange are duly reflected by amendments of any existing exchange. My services include

  • devising, assessing and amending systems for the exchange of information, e.g. via trade associations or trustees
  • safeguarding the compatibility of an information exchange with applicable competition laws by assessing the information provided by individual participants, the information intended to be relayed to all participants as well as adherence to all criteria for information to be relayed
  • assessment of the competition law compatibility of an information exchange including reconciliation with competition authorities and, if necessary, development of an appropriate defence strategy againt allegations of an infringement

+ Abuse of dominance

Undertakings with a dominant position on the relevant market are subject to particularly strict behavioural obligations under applicable competition laws, a dominant position being (rebuttably) presumed once market shares exceed 40% (Germany) or 50% (EU) respectively; German competition law entails similar provisions for undertakings with market power significantly below the dominance level. When it comes to alleged abuses of dominance, my services include

  • a thorough analysis of whether or not a dominant position may exist
  • advice on how to structure the company behaviour in order to avoid allegations of abusiveness
  • scrutiny and assessment of whether a given behaviour may be considered abusive and consultation on appropriate mitigation matters
  • representation in competition authority investigations including unannounced inspections
  • advising competitors, customers or suppliers of dominant undertakings on how to counter abusive behaviour, including representation in and filing of complaints with the Bundeskartellamt and European Commission

+ Cartel damages

When I started practising competition law, cartel damage proceedings were extremely difficult to win and therefore nearly unknown in Germany and the EU. In recent years, court rulings as well as amendments of applicable laws did significantly facilitate contentious cartel damage claims that today there hardly are cartel fines that are not followed by private cartel damage claims and litigation. Damages suffered through cartel behaviour, refusal to supply or abuse of a dominant position can quickly reach an amount exceeding even cartel fines: damages bear interest from the time of the competition law infringement and all participants in an infringement are jointly and severally liable for the total amount of damages any third party incurred. With a view to cartel damages, my services include

  • the consultation of claimants (in particular customers, suppliers and competitors) as well as defendants regarding the chances of success in enforcing or defending against claims for cartel damages
  • preparation of cartel damage litigation including access to the respective competition authorities’ file and gathering and preparation of evidence
  • non-contentious enforcement including negotiating, drafting and concluding settlements
  • contentious enforcement / defence against cartel damage claims in front of the courts of competent jurisdiction

+ Distribution systems

Distributing products is the core business activity for the majority of undertakings, whether they are producers or retailers. Antitrust and competition laws contain important requirements for distribution and supply relationships, non-compliance with which poses a significant economic risk as it can result in cartel fines and, in particular, make the entire agreement null and void. Competition law requirements concern agreements and concerted practices regarding all market-related activity, in particular regarding price, price components and rebates, territories and customers, but equally advertising and online distribution. As, therefore, a design of distribution and supply relationships in full compliance with competition law requirements as well as the defence against any undue claims infringing competition and antitrust law is of the essence to ensure legal certainty in distribution and supply relations, my services comprise

  • assessing, designing, setting up and executing supply and distribution agreements
  • designing, structuring, drafting and executing special distribution relationships like selective distribution systems, agency agreements or franchise agreements
  • assessing, designing and setting up systems for online distribution
  • support in negotiating corresponding contracts and in implementing and communicating amendments to business partners and relevant stakeholders
  • representation in contentious or non-contentious complaint proceedings as well as in investigations by competition authorities

+ DRAFTING OF CONTRACTS

Contracts and agreements are shaping the relationship between economic actors; they are omnipresent in economic life and of vital importance for the economic success of every single undertaking: therefore, contracts and agreements must be favourable content wise, but in particular legally certain and enforceable in a court of law in case of a dispute. Competition law prohibits “all agreements between undertakings, decisions by associations of undertakings and concerted practices which have as their object or effect the prevention, restriction or distortion of competition” (§ 1 GWB, Art. 101(1) TFEU). Whether conducted orally or in writing, legally binding or mere gentleman’s agreement: if a contract or agreement infringes this extremely wide statutory prohibition, it is null and void, cannot legally be enforced and may be sanctioned by cartel fines. My services include

  • assessment, (re-)design and execution of agreements and contractual provisions, in particular covenants not to compete, exclusivity clauses, stipulations on contract territories, customers and customer groups as well as other competitive activities in order to establish a legally secure and fully enforceable agreement
  • assessment of contract provisions potentially infringing competition laws
  • negotiation of agreements and contract clauses
  • representation in non-contentious negotiations on amendments of or dissolution from agreements and contracts raising competition law concerns
  • where necessary, representation in contentious proceedings in front of competition authorities and courts

+ Adjacent fields of law

Competition and antitrust law is both, a highly complex and specialised legal area and at the same time an interdisciplinary matter. Competition law problems surface in a multitude of economic situations, which often are predominantly governed by other fields of law like contract, distribution, trade and company law or the law of intellectual property. In fields of law adjacent to competition and antitrust law, in particular in

  • procurement law
  • subsidy law and EU state aid law
  • trade and company law
  • law against unfair competition
  • intellectual property law
  • copyright, patents and trademark law
  • law of contracts
  • distribution law

I equally have long-standing practical experience and am happy to advise and represent you. Should highly special knowledge be required, I co-operate with specialised law firms excelling in their respective fields

Blog & News

News

Almost exactly one year after the 9th Amendment to the German Competition Act (GWB) came into force on 9 June 2017, the German Federal Cartel......

Read More
News

In its ruling of December 6, 2017, the European Court of Justice (ECJ) provided important clarifications regarding the assessment of third-party platform bans in internet......

Read More
News

Das Thema Marktkonzentration und gemeinsame Eigentumsstrukturen bezeichnete Vestager als gegenwärtig besonders wichtig: Konsumenten sähen sich infolge fortschreitender Marktkonzentration heute oft großen Unternehmen gegenüber, denen gegenüber......

Read More
News

Today, the Bundeskartellamt has fined toy producer LEGO for enforcing vertical resale price maintenance in the sale of several so-called “highlight articles”.  The comparatively low fine largely results......

Read More

Blog & News

Contact

M. +49 173 1974 922

E. mb@berghofer-legal.de

Law practice in Starnberg
Josef-Jägerhuber-Straße 10
82319 Starnberg
T. +49 8151 55 66 547
F. +49 8151 55 67 664

Office in München
Maximilianstraße 2
80539 München
T. +49 89 20 500 85644
F. +49 89 20 500 8150

VCARD DOWNLOAD






Directions

MICHAEL A. BERGHOFER, LL.M.

RECHTSANWALT FÜR KARTELL- UND BEIHILFERECHT

KONTAKT

MICHAEL A. BERGHOFER, LL.M.

RECHTSANWALT FÜR KARTELL- UND BEIHILFERECHT

KONTAKT

Meine Leistungen

Mit mehr als 15 Jahren anwaltlicher Erfahrung im europäischen Wettbewerbsrecht stehe Ihnen in allen kartell- und beihilferechtlichen Fragen kompetent zur Seite: Setzen Sie auf mich, um Sanktionen zu vermeiden, das Kartellrecht proaktiv für sich zu nutzen und sich rechtssicher am Markt zu positionieren und im Wettbewerb durchzusetzen. Im Beihilferecht unterstütze ich Sie bei der Erlangung rechts- und rückforderungssicherer staatlicher Unterstützungsleistungen und Förderungen.

Ihr Nutzen

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen entwickle ich maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Sie und Ihr Unternehmen, damit Sie Ihre Ziele erreichen und Risiken aus den bereichen des Kartell- und Beihilferechts minimieren. Dabei behalte ich stets das große Ganze im Blick und berate Sie mit meinem Netzwerk hochspezialiserter Experten auch in angrenzenden Rechtsgebieten: Ich bin Ihr Partner in allen Fragen rund um das Kartell- und Beihilferecht.

Ihr Nutzen

Ich stehe Ihnen in allen kartell- und beihilferechtlichen Fragen kompetent zur Seite: Setzen Sie auf meine mehr als 15 Jahre Erfahrung im europäischen Wettbewerbsrecht, um Sanktionen zu vermeiden, das Kartellrecht proaktiv für sich zu nutzen, sich rechtssicher am Markt zu positionieren und im Wettbewerb durchzusetzen und staatliche Unterstützung rechtssicher und rückforderungsfest zu erlangen.

Meine Ziele

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen entwickle ich maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Sie und Ihr Unternehmen, damit Sie Ihre Ziele erreichen und kartellrechtliche Risiken ebenso minimieren wie die Rückforderung staatlicher Unterstützung vermeiden. Dabei behalte ich stets das große Ganze im Blick und berate Sie mit meinem Netzwerk hochspezialiserter Experten auch in angrenzenden Rechtsgebieten: Ich bin Ihr Partner in allen Fragen rund um das Kartell- und Beihilferecht.

berghofer-portrait

Rechtsanwalt / Experte im Kartell- und Wettbewerbsrecht

berghofer-portrait

Rechtsanwalt / Experte im Kartell- und Wettbewerbsrecht

Kartellrecht

Wie die eingangs erwähnten Zitate zeigen, ist das Kartellrecht ein sehr spezielles Rechtsgebiet, mit dem viele Unternehmen nichts anzufangen wissen – obwohl es in nahezu alle Bereiche des wirtschaftlichen Handelns von Unternehmen hineinwirkt und die Kartellbehörden (und zunehmend auch andere Marktteilnehmer) immer intensiver seine Einhaltung durchsetzen. Die denkbar weiten Kartellverbote des deutschen (§ 1 GWB) und europäischen (Art. 101 Abs. 1 AEUV) Rechts bestimmen:

„Vereinbarungen zwischen Unternehmen, Beschlüsse von Unternehmensvereinigungen und aufeinander abgestimmte Verhaltensweisen, welche eine Verhinderung, Einschränkung oder Verfälschung des Wettbewerbs innerhalb des Binnenmarkts bezwecken oder bewirken, sind verboten“.

Folgen Sie mir auf

Folgen Sie mir auf

Tätigkeitsfelder

+ Kartell- und Kartellbußgeldverfahren

Kartellbußgelder sind das schärfste Schwert im Arsenal der deutschen und europäischen Kartellbehörden, sie können bis zu 10% des weltweiten Konzernjahresumsatzes betragen; gegebenenfalls drohen auch strafrechtliche Sanktionen, insbesondere im Ausland. Ich verfüge über langjährige Erfahrung in der Verteidigung von Unternehmen und Geschäftsführung in Kartell- und Kartellbußgeldverfahren vor dem Bundeskartellamt und der Europäischen Kommission sowie den deutschen und europäischen Gerichten. Meine Leistungen umfassen

  • die Beratung zur Vermeidung von Kartellverstößen
  • die Bewertung des Vorliegens eines Kartellverstoßes und die Beratung zu zielführenden Maßnahmen zu dessen Beseitigung einschließlich Bonus- und Kronzeugenanträgen
  • die Vorbereitung auf und die Beratung zum richtigen Verhalten bei kartellbehördlichen Durchsuchungen (sog. dawn raids)
  • die Vertretung in kartellbehördlichen Ermittlungsverfahren einschließlich Durchsuchungen und Sektoruntersuchungen
  • die Ausarbeitung einer individuellen Verteidigungsstrategie sowie Konzeption und Durchführung von Verteidigungsmaßnahmen
  • die Vertretung in gerichtlichen Verfahren gegen kartellbehördliche Entscheidungen vor den deutschen und europäischen Gerichten.

+ Fusionskontrollverfahren

Externes Unternehmenswachstum – insbesondere durch Unternehmenskäufe, -zusammenschlüsse, -fusionen und -übernahmen, aber auch durch bestimmte Kooperationsformen oder Pachtverträge – muss vor dem Vollzug durch die Kartellbehörden (gegebenenfalls auch in mehreren Ländern) genehmigt werden, wenn bestimmte Umsatzschwellen überschritten sind. Um die von Bußgeldern bis zur Entflechtung reichenden gravierenden Folgen einer unterlassenen Fusionskontrollanmeldung zu vermeiden und eine rechtssichere und effiziente Durchführung von Zusammenschlüssen zu gewährleisten, übernehme ich – in Fällen mit Auslandsbezug gemeinsam mit spezialisierten Partnerkanzleien vor Ort –

  • die Beratung zur Möglichkeit der Gestaltung und Strukturierung einer Transaktion unter Vermeidung von Anmeldepflichten sowie zu fusionskontrollrechtlichen Risiken
  • die Prüfung der weltweiten Anmeldepflichten sowie die Koordinierung aller erforderlichen Fusionskontrollverfahren weltweit
  • die Gestaltung und Strukturierung der Transaktion in Einklang mit den Anmeldeerfordernissen in den relevanten Jurisdiktionen
  • die Erstellung von Fusionskontrollanmeldungen zum Bundeskartellamt und zur Europäischen Kommission einschließlich der Vertretung im Fusionskontrollverfahren
  • die Vertretung von beigeladenen Unternehmen in Fusionskontrollverfahren
  • die Beratung anderer von einem Zusammenschluss betroffener Parteien zu den Erfolgsaussichten eines Zusammenschlusses und zum Umgang mit Auskunftsersuchen

+ Kartell-Compliance

Kartellrechtliche Compliance bedeutet die Festlegung von Regeln und Prozessen mit dem Ziel, Kartellverstöße zu vermeiden und die Geschäftsführung durch Nachweis einer ordnungsgemäßen Delegation und Überwachung vor einer Haftung zu bewahren, sollte es dennoch zu einem Kartellverstoß kommen. Kartell-Compliance-Programme können eine bußgeldmindernde Wirkung entfalten. Mit meiner umfangreichen Erfahrung in der Erstellung, Anpassung und kartellrechtlichen Prüfung von Compliance Managementsystemen (CMS) nach dem Prüfstandard IDW PS 980 aus meiner langjährigen Tätigkeit für eine Big4 Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft übernehme ich

  • die Durchführung einer individuellen Analyse der kartellrechtlichen Risiken, die sich aus der spezifischen Unternehmenstätigkeit ergeben
  • die Ableitung und Aufstellung geeigneter Prozesse zum Umgang mit den festgestellten spezifischen Risiken in Einklang mit den Voraussetzungen des Prüfstandards IDW PS 980
  • die Erstellung eines Verhaltenskodex einschließlich spezifischer Verhaltensleitlinien für bestimmte Mitarbeitergruppen und Situationen, beispielsweise das Verhalten bei kartellamtlichen Durchsuchungen (dawn raids)
  • die Schulung von Geschäftsführung, Compliance-Beauftragtem, Rechtsabteilung und Mitarbeitern hinsichtlich der spezifischen kartellrechtlichen Risiken ihrer jeweiligen Tätigkeit und dem Umgang mit diesen
  • die laufende Betreuung bei der Durchführung von Compliance-Maßnahmen einschließlich der Identifikation von Anpassungsbedarf und der Beantwortung aktuell auftauchender Fragen
  • die Unterstützung bei der internen Aufdeckung von Kartellverstößen im Zuge interner Audits, Ableitung einer angemessenen Handlungsstrategie (erforderlichenfalls Anträge bei den Kartellbehörden und der Finanzaufsicht) sowie Interaktion mit dem Wirtschaftsprüfer

+ Kooperationen

Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen, oft konkurrierenden Unternehmen birgt zahlreiche Vorteile für Unternehmen: So können größenbedingte Vorteile beispielsweise beim Einkauf erzielt, die Kosten für Forschung & Entwicklung gesenkt oder Technologien von mehreren Unternehmen genutzt werden. Hiervon profitieren oft auch die Verbraucher, so dass Kooperationen in vielen Fällen dem Wettbewerb nicht schaden. Da die Zusammenarbeit aber in der Regel mit einer Koordinierung des Marktverhaltens der Kooperationspartner einhergeht, begründet sie stets auch kartellrechtliche Risiken. Im Bereich der Kooperationen ist vieles möglich, wenn die Zusammenarbeit von Anfang an so aufgesetzt wird, dass die kartellrechtlichen Vorgaben beachtet werden. Ich übernehme

  • die Konzeption von Kooperationen zum gemeinsamen Einkauf, zur Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E), zur Spezialisierung, zum Technologietransfers sowie zur Zusammenarbeit im Vertrieb einschließlich der Bildung von projektbezogenen Angebots- und Liefergemeinschaften
  • die Gestaltung und rechtliche Umsetzung der entsprechenden Kooperationsverträge sowie deren Verhandlung
  • die Gestaltung, Überprüfung und Anpassung von Systemen zum Informationsaustausch beispielsweise über Verbände oder Treuhänder
  • und berate Sie generell zu den Verhaltensanforderungen an Kontakte mit Wettbewerbern einschließlich dem Umgang mit und richtigen Verhalten bei Verbands- oder Branchentreffen

+ Informationsaustausch

Die immer rigideren Regelungen, denen der Informationsaustausch zwischen Unternehmen nach der sich schnell entwickelnden Rechtsprechung und kartellbehördlichen Praxis unterworfen ist, führen inzwischen sogar häufig zur Verhängung von Kartellbußgeldern wegen eines Informationsaustauschs. Wie bei den Kooperationen ist auch im Bereich des Informationsaustausches vieles möglich, soweit von Anfang an die kartellrechtlichen Vorgaben beachtet werden und Änderungen in der kartellrechtlichen Beurteilung durch eine Anpassung des bestehenden Informationsaustausches berücksichtigt werden. Ich übernehme

  • die Gestaltung, Überprüfung und Anpassung von Systemen zum Informationsaustausch beispielsweise über Verbände oder Treuhänder
  • mit Blick auf die Kartellrechtskonformität des Austausches die Prüfung von Meldungen und Rückmeldungen sowie der für die Rückmeldung geltenden Voraussetzungen,
  • die Prüfung eines Informationsaustausches auf kartellrechtliche Zulässigkeit sowie die Abstimmung mit den Kartellbehörden bzw. die Entwicklung einer angemessenen Verhaltens- und Verteidigungsstrategie bei erkannten Verstößen

+ Missbrauchsverfahren

Marktbeherrschende Unternehmen unterliegen besonders strengen kartellrechtlichen Verhaltensregeln, eine marktbeherrschende Stellung wird ab Marktanteilen von 40% bzw. 50% (widerleglich) vermutet. In Zusammenhang mit dem Vorwurf des Missbrauchs einer marktbeherrschenden Stellung übernehme ich insbesondere

  • die Analyse des Vorliegens einer marktbeherrschenden Stellung
  • die Beratung, wie das Unternehmenshandeln zu gestalten ist, um Kartellverstöße zu vermeiden
  • die Bewertung des Vorliegens eines Kartellverstoßes und die Beratung zu zielführenden Maßnahmen zu dessen Beseitigung
  • die Vertretung in kartellbehördlichen Ermittlungsverfahren einschließlich Durchsuchungen
  • die Beratung von Wettbewerbern, Kunden oder Lieferanten marktbeherrschender Unternehmen zum Vorgehen gegen missbräuchliches Verhalten sowie die Vertretung in Beschwerdeverfahren vor Bundeskartellamt und Europäischer Kommission

+ Kartellschadensersatz

Zu Beginn meiner kartellrechtlichen Tätigkeit waren Kartellschadensersatzverfahren in Deutschland und der EU so gut wie aussichtslos und damit nahezu unbekannt. In den letzten Jahren haben Gerichtsentscheidungen und Gesetzesänderungen die Durchsetzung von Kartellschadensersatzansprüchen stark erleichtert, so dass sie heute zum Alltag gehören. Dabei können Schadensersatzforderungen wegen Kartellverstößen, Lieferverweigerung oder Missbrauch einer marktbeherrschenden Stellung – die ab dem Zeitpunkt des Kartellverstoßes zu verzinsen sind und für die alle Kartellbeteiligten als Gesamtschuldner haften – schnell ein finanzielles Ausmaß annehmen, das sogar die Kartellbußgelder betragsmäßig übersteigt. Im Bereich des Kartellschadensersatzes übernehme ich

  • die Beratung von Anspruchsstellern (insbesondere Kunden, Lieferanten und Wettbewerbern) bzw. Anspruchsgegnern zu den Erfolgsaussichten einer Durchsetzung bzw. Abwehr von Kartellschadensersatzansprüchen
  • die Vorbereitung von Kartellschadensersatzklagen einschließlich der Akteneinsicht in kartellbehördliche Ermittlungsakten und Sammlung von Beweismitteln
  • die außergerichtliche Anspruchsdurchsetzung einschließlich der Durchführung von Vergleichsverhandlungen
  • die gerichtliche Durchsetzung bzw. Abwehr von Kartellschadensersatzansprüchen

+ Vertriebssysteme

Der Vertrieb von Produkten ist für den Großteil aller Unternehmen das Kerngeschäft, ob als Hersteller oder als Händler. Das Kartellrecht enthält wichtige Vorgaben für die Gestaltung von Vertriebs- und Lieferbeziehungen, bei deren Nichteinhaltung neben Kartellbußgeldern insbesondere die Nichtigkeit der gesamten Vereinbarung und damit ein erhebliches wirtschaftliches Risiko droht. Dies betrifft Vereinbarungen zu allen marktbezogenen Verhaltensweisen, namentlich zu Preisen, Preisbestandteilen und Rabatten, zu Liefergebieten und Kunden, aber auch zur Werbung und zum Onlinevertrieb. Da der rechtssicheren und kartellrechtskonformen Gestaltung von Vertriebs- und Lieferbeziehungen erhebliche Bedeutung zukommt – ebenso wie der Abwehr kartellrechtlich unzulässiger Anforderungen – übernehme ich

  • die Gestaltung und Überprüfung von Einkaufs- und Vertriebsvereinbarungen
  • die Konzeption und vertragliche Umsetzung von besonderen Vertriebsmodellen wie selektiven Vertriebssystemen, Handelsvertreterverträgen oder Franchiseverträgen
  • die Gestaltung und Überprüfung von Regelungen zum Onlinevertrieb
  • die Unterstützung bei Vertragsverhandlungen und bei der Implementierung und Kommunikation von Änderungen im Vertriebssystem
  • die Vertretung gegen vertriebskartellrechtliche Beschwerden in gerichtlichen und außergerichtlichen Verfahren sowie in Verfahren vor den Kartellbehörden

+ Vertragsgestaltung

Verträge und Vereinbarungen gestalten die Beziehungen zwischen Wirtschaftsteilnehmern und sind im Wirtschaftsleben allgegenwärtig und von zentraler Bedeutung für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg eines jeden Unternehmens: Sie müssen daher inhaltlich günstig, vor allem aber rechtssicher und im Streitfall gerichtlich durchsetzbar sein. Das Kartellrecht verbietet „alle Vereinbarungen zwischen Unternehmen, Beschlüsse von Unternehmensvereinigungen und aufeinander abgestimmte Verhaltensweisen, welche eine Verhinderung, Einschränkung oder Verfälschung des Wettbewerbs bezwecken oder bewirken“ (§ 1 GWB, Art. 101 AEUV). Gleich ob mündlich oder schriftlich geschlossen, rechtsverbindlich oder bloßes „Gentlemen’s Agreement“: Verstößt ein Vertrag oder eine Vereinbarung gegen dieses denkbar weite gesetzliche Verbot, so ist sie nichtig, gerichtlich nicht durchsetzbar und kann Kartellbußgelder nach sich ziehen. Meine Leistungen umfassen

  • die Prüfung und Gestaltung von Verträgen und Vertragsklauseln, insbesondere von Wettbewerbsverboten, Regelungen über Exklusivität, Vertragsgebiete, Kunden und sonstige wettbewerbliche Parameter, um eine rechtssichere und durchsetzbare Vereinbarung zu erreichen
  • die Prüfung möglicherweise kartellrechtswidriger Vertragsklauseln
  • die Verhandlung von Verträgen und kartellrechtlich relevanten Vertragsklauseln
  • die Verhandlung über eine Anpassung oder Lösung kartellrechtlich bedenklicher Verträge und Vereinbarungen
  • erforderlichenfalls die Vertretung in Verfahren vor Kartellbehörden und Gerichten

+ Staatliche Beihilfen

Staatliche Förderungen und Unterstützungsleistungen können für Unternehmen eine erhebliche und teilweise lebenswichtige Rolle spielen – gerade dann, wenn Märkte nicht oder nicht richtig funktionieren, etwa in Bezug auf den Zugang kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen (KMU) zu Fremdkapital oder die Rettung von Unternehmen in Schwierigkeiten, aber auch bei globalen Krisen wie der Finanzkrise 2008/2009 oder der Corona-Krise. Da staatliche Unterstüzungsleistungen in das Wettbewerbsgefüge eingreifen, sind sie streng durch das Europäische Beihilferecht reglementiert:

„Beihilfen gleich welcher Art, die durch die Begünstigung bestimmter Unternehmen oder Produktionszweige den Wettbewerb verfälschen oder zu verfälschen drohen, mit dem Binnenmarkt unvereinbar, soweit sie den Handel zwischen Mitgliedstaaten beeinträchtigen.“ (Art. 107 Abs. 1 AEUV)

Sie müssen grundsätzlich vor Ihrer Gewährung bei der Europäischen Kommission angemeldet und von dieser genehmigt werden und dürfen nur in Übereinstimmung mit dieser Genehmigung gewährt werden – bei Verstößen sind die erlangten Vorteile zurückzugewähren, und zwar mit Zinsen.

Ich unterstütze Sie bei der Prüfung,

  • ob eine mögliche Förderung von der Kommission genehmigt wurde bzw. unter eine genehmigte Beihilferegelung oder eine Gruppenfreistellungverordnung fällt;
  • ob die Voraussetzungen der genehmigten Beihilferegelung oder einer Gruppenfreistellung eingehalten sind; und
  • ob die konkrete Fördermaßnahme die für sie geltenden Voraussetzungen einhält – nur durch diese Prüfung lässt sich sicherstellen, dass Sie eine gewährte Beihilfe auch tatsächlich langfristig behalten dürfen.
  • Im Bedarfsfall unterstütze und vertrete ich Sie auch in Verhandlungen mit dem Förderungsgeber und in Verfahren vor der Europäischen Kommission oder nationalen Behörden und Gerichten.

+ Angrenzende Rechtsgebiete

Kartellrecht ist ein Spezialgebiet, aber auch eine Querschnittsmaterie: Kartellrechtliche Fragen und Problemstellungen treten in allen Bereichen des Wirtschaftslebens auf, oft in solchen, die einem anderen Rechtsgebiet zugeordnet sind, namentlich in handels- und gesellschaftsrechtlichen, vertrags- und vertriebsrechtlichen oder immaterialgüterrechtlichen Sachverhalten. In den an das Kartellrecht angrenzenden Rechtsgebieten, namentlich

  • im Vergaberecht
  • im Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht
  • im Wettbewerbsrecht
  • im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz
  • im Urheber-, Patent- und Markenrecht
  • im Vertragsrecht und
  • im Vertriebsrecht

verfüge ich ebenfalls über langjährige Erfahrungen und übernehme Ihre Beratung. Soweit Spezialkenntnisse erforderlich werden, kooperiere ich mit entsprechend spezialisierten Kanzleien, die über ausgewiesene Expertise in den vorgenannten Rechtsgebieten verfügen.

Blog & News

News

Fast genau ein Jahr nach Inkrafttreten der 9. GWB-Novelle am 9. Juni 2017 hat das Bundeskartellamt nun die amtliche Übersetzung des Gesetzestextes in die englische......

Read More
News

Das Thema Marktkonzentration und gemeinsame Eigentumsstrukturen bezeichnete Vestager als gegenwärtig besonders wichtig: Konsumenten sähen sich infolge fortschreitender Marktkonzentration heute oft großen Unternehmen gegenüber, denen gegenüber......

Read More
News

Mit Urteil vom 6. Dezember 2017 hat der Europäische Gerichtshof (EuGH) wichtige Präzisierungen zur kartellrechtlichen Beurteilung von Drittplattform-Verboten beim Internetvertrieb vorgenommen, die große Relevanz für......

Read More
News

Today, the Bundeskartellamt has fined toy producer LEGO for enforcing vertical resale price maintenance in the sale of several so-called „highlight articles“.  The comparatively low fine largely results......

Read More

Blog & News

Kontakt

M. +49 173 1974 922

E. mb@berghofer-legal.de

Kanzlei Starnberg
Josef-Jägerhuber-Straße 10
82319 Starnberg
T. +49 8151 55 66 547
F. +49 8151 55 67 664

Büro München
Maximilianstraße 2
80539 München
T. +49 89 20 500 85644
F. +49 89 20 500 8150

VCARD DOWNLOAD





Anfahrt